PDA

View Full Version : HostingBuddy (was: Automated Hosting Bot)

Pages : [1] 2

Gnork
15 Jan 2007, 18:44
Hi there!

I've been playing WWP and W:A for quite some time (with inactive periods in between) and one thing still bugs me and I think a LOT of other ppl also. The hosting troubles for firewalled kids and grownups who don't have a clue on why nobody joins their game... Since I'm relatively new to W:A and having done some internet surfing I discovered there are serveral utilities to login to wormnet without having the game started, things to setup your own wormnet and other weird stuff.

[Q] I'm wondering if its possible to build a serverbot that once logged in onto wormnet is able to host games. When you login on a particular gametype on this bot, all scheme settings will be set for it and a random map from a pool could be loaded by the bot. Once everybody is in (it would be nice to have a limiter for 3 of 4 ppl max in a game) and puts the light up the bot confirms and starts the game, hosted on a big server somewhere i dunno - team17 hq? - berlin? - japan? - Planet Worm? Obviously the bot should be able to be configured by the admin so a UI for the scheme settings etc would be nice... but a command line program can do the job also probably ;) If only a couple of these bots would be running on the lobby... some for every gametype like wxw shoppa roper bng ...

So the question is, is this doable by a 3rd party tool (like it was possible to setup a dedicated quake server in your home and have the house login to it playing games), and if so, what would be the bandwidth consumption / cpu usage for such a serverbot if like 10 instances are running on a single server hosting for up to 40 ppl different games?

And last but not least, does anybody feel attracted to write such a bot in his/her spare time in order to serve the community?