PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Online play!

Tazorama
26 Feb 2007, 00:07
I am new at this so bare with me :S

I can not play online.. this is what happens:

-I click on the "Play Over Local Area Network or the Internet" button.
-I enter a nick-name and click on the "WormNET" button.
-I get The following page:

----------------------------------

WELCOME TO WORMNET

Select your connection point:

United Kingdom (UK1) / Autologin
---------------------------------

-no matter which one I choose, I get this error message:
--------------------------------
Unable to connect to the server. Please try another server!
--------------------------------

I have the latest update, and my firewall is allowing Worms Armageddon.
I am not even in the UK! What am I doing wrong?? Is there a way this can be solved??

Thank you very much in advance.

KRD
26 Feb 2007, 00:18
While your firewall may not be blocking WA.exe from the internet, it could be configured to not allow any traffic on port 6667. That's the default IRC port and WA uses it for its game lobby called WormNet.

Try looking for a setting in your firewall that has to do with blocking the IRC network for now. If that doesn't work, come back and I'm sure someone else will think of something better for you to try.

Oh and the UK1 server is the only official one left. That's where just about all the games get played.

Tazorama
26 Feb 2007, 00:37
Thank you KRD.

The only firewall I have is the Windows Firewall. I went through the settings but found nothing about an IRC port. Any other possibilities

NOTES:

The error message appears quite fast--as soon as I double click the Autologin button. It is not like it tries to connect and times out.
I completely turned off Windows Firewall and the problem STILL existed.

bonz
26 Feb 2007, 08:15
Perhaps your ISP blocks port 6667 by default.
University campus network tend to do that sometimes for example.

Tazorama
26 Feb 2007, 09:44